Board of Trustees

MDAH is governed by a nine-member board of trustees whose president is Kane Ditto of Jackson. Katie Blount has served as department director since February 2015. The department’s five divisions are responsible for the agency’s sites and programs.


Reuben V. Anderson, Jackson, President 
Nancy Carpenter, Columbus 

Spence Flatgard, Ridgeland 
Betsey Hamilton, New Albany 
Web Heidelberg, Hattiesburg 

Edmond E. Hughes Jr., Ocean Springs 
Mark Keenum, Starkville 

Hilda Cope Povall, Cleveland 
Helen Moss Smith, Natchez 


Katie Blount

Directors Emeritus

H.T. Holmes

Elbert R. Hilliard


Be part of history. Volunteer with MDAH and help us preserve and connect Mississippi’s rich historic resources with people around the world.